HEARnoEVIL; Songs Im Diggin On (Part 1)

Posted on August 21, 2010

0


Sooooo, When I initially conceptualized this blog I really wanted to be able to get in-depth with my opinions and views on things. For example, I wanted to be able to feature music that I felt was AWESOME!! and tell you exactly why I felt that way. Now on the flip side, I also wanted to feature music that I felt was Not so great and critique it (of course with good reason) the latter part actually is the main reason I held off from even moving forward with the whole idea (people are sensitive & may take offense to my opinion on their work. There are definitely repercussions, but I seek the truth & I feel that as long as its tasteful, my point of view is constructive….funny at times, but constructive & honest) lol lol

Now that I’ve gotten more comfortable with the concept of blogging, getting my thoughts out and putting myself “out there” more for my fans, friends, family & peers(enemies & strangers 2) to see, TODAY is the day that I get this new part of my blog up and running & its called “HEARnoEVIL & iHEARevil”

pretty clever huh? lol lol it ties into the whole “HereNoEvil” blog title,which is what I intended…..SOOO, without further a due, HERE WE GO!

Fuck You

by Cee-Lo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4KBdKHeVEHo

I LOVE this song and i think it is easily, the most creative song i have heard in YEARS!!! Wow, its edgy without being vulgar, its catchy without being cliché, its soulful and honest without being an “album cut” and its fun without being overly commercial & shallow. I cant say ive ever heard anyone use the words “fuck you” as the hook of a song and it be Brilliant!! lol

Well……I do remember a few years back, this artist named Eamon (Jive Records) had a song called “Fuck it (I don’t want you back)” >> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mj_W0HxcT2s For one, the song was an insult to Music & the english language, 2nd the vocal performance (if u could call it that) was piss-poor & caused me great frustration, knowing that this no talent hack not only had a hit record, but a record deal (who the hell invested in this clown & his novelty record from hell??) *but I digress*

Cee-Lo is amazing and this song reminds us all how great he is.

Power (Remix)

by Kanye West (Featuring Jay-Z & Swizz Beats)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VgWONBKopMQ

I really Enjoyed this remix, for one I am a Huge HUGE Kanye West fan (not to the point where im biased) but I do appreciate his creativity, passion & outspoken nature. The original Version of “Power” was Awesome and I felt it definitely will go down as one of his classic records in his catalog. I definitely liked how Kanye and Swizz Beatz incorporated  the”The Power” by SNAP sample, it did a good job of blending the Old School with The New School >>> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_BRv9wGf5pk

I also thought it was really dope for Jay-Z to say “Power to The People” a slogan made popular by The Black Panther Party,

I only hope that signifies a new direction in Music. It just brings me back to a time when we as people were much more rebellious & outspoken when it came to voicing our opinions and demanding our rights as human beings as well as our culture(art & music)……(but thats a whole other conversation) but thank you to Jay-Z, Kanye West, Swizz Beatz & John Legend for making this song a reality, the music community needs it!!

I’m In Love

by Tyson Ritter & Timbaland

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PeDfZD0Q-Eg

This song is just DOPE DOPE DOPE & DOPPER!!! Man, this is a great new sound for Timbaland! And What  I really love about the song is the chord changes in the Chorus!!! it just comes out of nowhere, it actually reminds me of my own production a lot…i tend to add chord changes to repetitive synth loops and make the track more melodic. But definitely check this song out and hear what made me excited!!! I only wish that more creative people in the music business would push the bar & try 2 make great music & art.

THANK YOU TIMBALAND 4 SHOWING US HOW ITS DONE!

Posted in: Uncategorized